Skip to content

Thoughts on a Sunday

May 18, 2014

At times, my feelings overwhelm me

today missing my Dad, my son,  overwhelmed by the passage of time,  the disconnects,  missed opportunities

grateful for the live I have been given,  seeking to receive what I have missed, avoided, and not understood.

[Jhn 1:1-4 NASB] 1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 He was in the beginning with God. 3 All things came into being through Him, and apart from Him nothing came into being that has come into being. 4 In Him was life, and the life was the Light of men.

Let me be a little child to you God, in all my ways

[Mat 19:13-15 NASB] 13 Then some children were brought to Him so that He might lay His hands on them and pray; and the disciples rebuked them. 14 But Jesus said, “Let the children alone, and do not hinder them from coming to Me; for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.” 15 After laying His hands on them, He departed from there.

Put your hands on me,  please heal me of the troubles I cannot shake 

[Mat 19:20-26 NASB] 20 The young man said to Him, “All these things I have kept; what am I still lacking?” 21 Jesus said to him, “If you wish to be complete, go and sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow Me.” 22 But when the young man heard this statement, he went away grieving; for he was one who owned much property. 23 And Jesus said to His disciples, “Truly I say to you, it is hard for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven. 24 “Again I say to you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle, than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God.” 25 When the disciples heard this, they were very astonished and said, “Then who can be saved?” 26 And looking at them Jesus said to them, “With people this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

Lord I pray for your possibilities, not what I think or perceive.  In Jesus name

 

Proverbs 14:12 (NIV) There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death.

 

 

  • If our line of sight is along our own way, or the way of the world, then this will begin to make sense to us as we continue to meditate on it, even if the way we are looking is really stupid. With this mind set, desire will spring up, which is the fuel that will lead us to destruction.

     

  • Any sin would do as an example, but let’s take bitterness. If someone has done evil to us, the more we think about it, the more it will make sense to hate them, to burn with anger, to feel again the hurt. As we focus on the way of revenge, desire takes root and bitterness sets in. And where does this all lead?

     

James 1:14-15 (NIV) But each one is tempted when, by his own evil desire, he is dragged away and enticed. Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth todeath.

 

 

Comments are closed.

