Skip to content

Holy Ambition and Hope (our common Christian calling)

January 2, 2011

And we desire that each one of you show the same diligence so as to realize the full assurance of hope until the end,

(Heb 6:11 NASB)

For 2011 – a new year.  I am reading several books on Kindle (pc and Android) and was reading My Utmost for His Highest Devos on Heartlight.org .  Several items have stayed with me so far.

Hope – too many times I have looked into the worldly hope or hopelessness,  it is ‘both and’ true – one day there is hope, a few days later there is hopelessness or silence,  no continuity; instead of constantly looking to God in Jesus Christ.  I have failed to lead my emotions / heart / feelings with my head and failed to keep my head firmly pointed to Christ.  This ‘self reliance’ opens a door to fear, and heading away from God’s best for me.  God designed me for interdependence – cooperation with Him.



according to my earnest expectation and hope, that I will not be put to shame in anything, but that with all boldness, Christ will even now, as always, be exalted in my body, whether by life or by death.

(Phi 1:20 NASB)

Ambition – my worldly view has been to give lip service to God in prayer and thanks for a few minutes a week, usually on Sunday, and set my own agenda and goals with only a small influence from God.

Holy Ambition – something I really really want to do, very badly,  that God also wants me to do.  I am reflecting on what that is for 2011.

The Book ‘Do Hard Things’  is a great read, for teens as well as any age.  In it the author discusses Holy Amition and provides an analysis of failure to succeed is always a lacking in one of three areas (or more)

He calls these the 3 pillars:

character

competence

collaboration

a failure in any of these three areas will likely distract or prevent me from suceeding in ambition or Holy Ambition.

It is my New Year’s resolution to succeed by paying attention to these three pillars, keeping my mind focused on Christ (and acting to give Him Glory) in all the ambitions and Holy Ambitions I follow this year.

Comments are closed.

