Skip to content

Skillet – Rebirthing

September 5, 2010

 I have come to enjoy many of Skillet’s songs, and among them rebirthing is one that I find the combination of words, vocals and music to place me in apowerful place of worship and reflection, and sometimes repentance / praise / humility.

I lie here paralytic, inside this soul

Screaming for you till my throat is numb

I wanna break out I need a way out

I don’t believe that it’s gotta be this way

The worst is the waiting

In this womb I’m suffocating

 Before I woke up to the reality of Christ,  the healing / changing / cleansing love of Jesus – I was feeling this, yet ignoring this,  being numb to the reality of Jesus wooing me.  Living a dead life.

For indeed in this

> we groan, longing to be clothed with our dwelling from heaven,

(2Co 5:2 NASB)

for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,

 (Rom 3:23 NASB)

Feel your presence filling up my lungs with oxygen

I take you in I’ve died

Rebirthing now I wanna live for love, wanna live for you and me Breathe for the first time now I come alive somehow

Rebirthing now I wanna live my life, wanna give you everything Breathe for the first time now I come alive somehow

Right now Right now

I went on a walk to emmaus in Oct 2000, and for a good 2 years,  was on a mission to proclaim Christ, teach Christ, talk about Jesus where ever and whenever I could.  I felt the zeal,  realized my prior inaction, desired to make amends to God.  Saw the emptiness of this life and the suffocating smothering death I had been living in.  I have continued these last 8 years in obedience,  but not alway with the zeal of the first 2 years.  I often wonder why the fire abated,  God did not change,  so I chose to.

(Isaiah 59:17)  He put on righteousness like a breastplate, And a helmet of salvation on His head; And He put on garments of vengeance for clothing And wrapped Himself with zeal as a mantle.

 

I lie here lifeless in this cocoon Shedding my skin cause I’m ready to I wanna break out, I found a way out I don’t believe that it’s gotta be this way The worst is the waiting In this womb I’m suffocating

Feel your presence filling up my lungs with oxygen I take you in I’ve died

Rebirthing now I wanna live for love, wanna live for you and me Breathe for the first time now I come alive somehow

Rebirthing now I wanna live my life, wanna give you everything Breathe for the first time now I come alive somehow

These lyrics remind me that each day / month / year is a rebirthing in Christ,  an opportunity to recapture the zeal and emotional fire for Christ

(Galatians 2:20)  “I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.

Tell me when I’m gonna live again Tell me when I’m gonna breathe you in Tell me when I’m gonna feel inside Tell me when I’m gonna feel alive

Tell me when I’m gonna live again Tell me when this fear will end Tell me when I’m gonna feel inside Tell me when I’ll feel alive

(2 Thessalonians 3:3)  But the Lord is faithful, and He will strengthen and protect you from the evil one.

 

(2 Corinthians 5:1)  For we know that if the earthly tent which is our house is torn down, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens.

Rebirthing now I wanna live for love, wanna live for you and me Breathe for the first time now I come alive somehow

Rebirthing now I wanna live my life, wanna give you everything Breathe for the first time now I come alive somehow

Right now(I come alive somehow)Right now(I come alive somehow)  I lie here paralytic, inside this soul Screaming for you till my throat is numb I wanna break out I need a way out I don’t believe that it’s gotta be this way The worst is the waiting In this womb I’m suffocating Feel your presence filling up my lungs with oxygen I take you in I’ve diedRebirthing now I wanna live for love, wanna live for you and me Breathe for the first time now I come alive somehow Rebirthing now I wanna live my life, wanna give you everything Breathe for the first time now I come alive somehow Right now Right now I lie here lifeless in this cocoon Shedding my skin cause I’m ready to I wanna break out, I found a way out I don’t believe that it’s gotta be this way The worst is the waiting In this womb I’m suffocating Feel your presence filling up my lungs with oxygen I take you in I’ve died Rebirthing now I wanna live for love, wanna live for you and me Breathe for the first time now I come alive somehow Rebirthing now I wanna live my life, wanna give you everything Breathe for the first time now I come alive somehow Tell me when I’m gonna live again Tell me when I’m gonna breathe you in Tell me when I’m gonna feel inside Tell me when I’m gonna feel alive Tell me when I’m gonna live again Tell me when this fear will end Tell me when I’m gonna feel inside Tell me when I’ll feel alive Rebirthing now I wanna live for love, wanna live for you and me Breathe for the first time now I come alive somehow Rebirthing now I wanna live my life, wanna give you everything Breathe for the first time now I come alive somehow Right now(I come alive somehow)Right now(I come alive somehow)

Living a purpose driven life that extends to eternity and glory in Christ Jesus, my Lord and Savior!

John

Comments are closed.

