Skip to content

Coming out of Darkness, Living in the Light, What does it mean and what is your responsibility?

September 5, 2010

Jude, a bond-servant of Jesus Christ, and brother of James, To those who are the called, beloved in God the Father, and kept for Jesus Christ:

(Jude 1:1)

Mercy peace love are outward actions of grace – essential Christians elements.

What does it mean and what is your responsibility?

 

2. b. Called – 15kletos (Adjective)

“called, invited,” is used, (a) “of the call of the Gospel,” Mt. 20:16; 22:14, not there “an effectual call,” as in the Epistles, Ro. 1:1,6,7; 8:28; 1Co. 1:2,24; Jude. 1:1; Re. 17:14; in Ro. 1:7; 1Co. 1:2 the meaning is “saints by calling;” (b) of “an appointment to apostleship,” Ro. 1:1; 1Co. 1:1.

c. 1) Therefore do not be ashamed of the testimony of our Lord or of me His prisoner, but join with me in suffering for the gospel according to the power of God, who has saved us and called us with a holy calling, not according to our works, but according to His own purpose and grace which was granted us in Christ Jesus from all eternity,

(2 Timothy 1:8-9)

Do not be ashamed of Jesus,  join in suffering for the gospel,  I have a holy calling according to Jesus own purpose.  I have been granted grace in Christ Jesus for eternity.

c. 2) But we should always give thanks to God for you, brethren beloved by the Lord, because God has chosen you from the beginning for salvation through sanctification by the Spirit and faith in the truth. It was for this He called you through our gospel, that you may gain the glory of our Lord Jesus Christ.

(2 Thessalonians 2:13-14)

Chosen from the beginning for salvation, sanctification being done by the Spirit and faith in truth.  It is for salvation purposes that I was called to gain the glory of Jesus Christ.

c. 3) But you are A CHOSEN RACE, A royal PRIESTHOOD, A HOLY NATION, A PEOPLE FOR  God’s OWN POSSESSION, so that you may proclaim the excellencies of Him who has called you out of darkness into His marvelous light;

(1 Peter 2:9)

I am part of a chosen race,  a royal priesthood, a holy nation, part of a people for God’s own possession, so that I may proclaim the excellent glory of Jesus Christ who called me out of my darkness into light.

c. 4) And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to  His purpose. For those whom He foreknew, He also predestined to become conformed to the image of His Son, so that He would be the firstborn among many brethren; and these whom He predestined, He also called; and these whom He called, He also justified; and these whom He justified, He also glorified.

(Romans 8:28-30)

This is beyond my ability to take in.  In my sinful state, my darkness – the love of Christ reached into my life and saved me from myself and my wrongheaded life.  God caused all of my sin to become part of a ministry – a calling – working together to produce a good and righteous life in Christ Jesus,  I went from being so wrong to being conformed into the image of Christ.  I understand this,  but I am unable to comprehend the full meaning of the amazing glory and grace that God has poured and continues to pour into my life.

 


Comments are closed.

