Skip to content

Why don’t I have peace?

April 11, 2010

Now may the Lord of peace Himself continually grant you peace in every circumstance. The Lord be with you all!

(2Th 3:16 NASB)

“Every circumstance”  seems pretty clear,  it means every situation,  with every person.  I notice it does not say anything about how I feel.  And the granting only and 100% comes from the “Lord of Peace”.  I have to receive the peace from the Lord.  From Dr Ed Smith (TPM) – “If we do not have peace in every circumstance, then we believe something that is contrary to this peace. Peace follows truth. When I know truth, I will walk in peace.”

For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life.

(Gal 6:8 NASB)

“be anxious for NOTHING” (Philippians 4:6). “Nothing” means for no reason, ever! The Apostle John wrote “Perfect love casts out ALL fear” (1 John 4:18). We are told to “Get rid of ALL bitterness, rage and anger … along with EVERY form of malice” (Ephesians 4:31).

When I try to have peace on my own path and own strength,  I may succeed,  but without receiving the grant of peace from the Lord,  the peace probably will not last.

I only recently reflected on this truth from the Word of God,  and have found new areas of peace in my life as a result.

I pray that you will also.

Comments are closed.

