Skip to content

Who am I

March 21, 2010

Temporal and Positional Truth

Christian’s understand that our salvation is a gift that comes from Christ’s sacrifice for us, but most churches stop there. So, a lot of Christians are not taught about the position, authority and relationship that we have with God. I did not understand the Positional and Temporal truths that make up the rest of God’s gift to us.

The Positional truth is that once we accept Christ, He is in us and we are in Him. We are covered by Christ’s blood and seen as Holy and blameless in the sight of God (Ephesians 1:4). We are sealed with the Holy Spirit (Ephesians 1:13) and become co-heirs with Christ and sons and daughters of God (Ephesians 1:5). We enter into an intimate relationship with our Creator through Christ. We have the Holy Spirit living in us to teach, comfort, guide, help and empower us. We are seated with Christ in the heavenly places, right next to God (Ephesians 2:6). We are citizens of heaven. We also become part of the body of Christ. We join with other believers to work together to do God’s work. Through Christ we are linked together. We are a spiritual family (Ephesians 2:19-22). What this means to me is that I am never alone, no matter how I may feel, because Christ and God are always right next to me and the body of believers are all there, too. It also means that I have the power of God in me because Christ is in me and I have the authority to use that power for His purposes. It is not my authority. It is Christ’s authority and He has given me access to it, to use in His name. For me, this gift of authority is one I have only recently become aware of. It is a gift that I have had for a long time, but never saw. Now I see it and I have opened it, but I am not sure about what to do with it. I have not fully grasped all that it means. This area is a prayer focus for me because I want to be all that God wants me to be. I want to do all the things He wants me to do. It is a gift that is to be taken very seriously because I will be held accountable for the way I use it. God put all these things in place because He loves us and wanted to protect us and wanted a relationship with us. His love is amazing. It has no limits. I feel it every day. It is empowering and humbling at the same time. My focus needs to stay on Him, in all I do and my thoughts should be focused on the spiritual rather than the physical. The eternal consequences are more important than the worldly consequences.

The Temporal truth is that God will give me what I need, here in my physical body to do what He wants me to do here on this earth. If I feel stressed I can call out to Him and He will give me peace, He will comfort me and provide for my physical needs. While I am here, my job is to study and increase my knowledge and grow into a mature Christian, so I know the truth and will not be deceived by false teachings. (Ephesians 4:13-15). I have a responsibility to be Christ like in my interactions with others. I should be patient, honest and kind with others. People should see Christ in me (Ephesians 4:24-32). I should follow God’s example and show love to everyone (Ephesians 5:1-2). By doing this I can teach others about God and bring new people into the body of Christ. The way I conduct myself is very important because I represent God. So, all my relationships and all my conduct should be guided by love. (Ephesians 5:22-6:9) I also need to remember that my struggles and battles are not with other people, but with satan and his forces (Ephesians 6:12). I am not alone in this battle. God, Jesus, the Holy Spirit and the body of believers are all with me. I never stand alone. God has also given me the Armor of God (Ephesians 6:10-18). These are powerful tools to help me stand against the enemy.

Comments are closed.

